The Maronite Catholic Church of Our Lady of Lebanon in Wheeling, West Virginia, was founded in 1906 by Father Paul K. Abraham to serve Lebanese immigrants. The congregation initially worshipped at the Bishop's residence at 13th and Byron Street and later moved to the Bryan Building at 2269 Market Street. In 1922, a new church was built at the current site of 2216 Eoff Street, funded by donations from parishioners and Bishop Patrick J. Donahue. This 1922 church was destroyed by fire in December 1932. While reconstruction was funded by parishioner donations and annual Mahrajan festivals started in 1933, the congregation worshipped at a side altar at St. Alphonsus Church. The reconstructed church still stands today at 2216 Eoff Street in Wheeling.
The Maronite Catholic Church is an Eastern Catholic Church in full communion with the Roman Catholic Church. Maronites affirm Roman Catholic teachings and recognize the Pope as head of the Church, but have the freedom to practice their own unique Maronite rite.
To learn more: (https://tinyurl.com/yf9yk6t9) (https://tinyurl.com/4m77w9tc) (https://tinyurl.com/rzdk5buw)
Photo Credits: Ohio County Public Library Archive, Wheeling WV