Mike Minder
Follow Mike Minder on:
  • Home
  • Mike Minder
  • Wheeling's Gambling History to 1976
    • Ohio Valley History Blog

The Rise and Fall of St. John's Episcopal Church in Wheeling, West Virginia: A Tale of High Church Liturgy, Financial Woes, and the Prominent Eoff Family (May 4, 1875)

5/3/2024

0 Comments

 
Today in Wheeling History: May 4--Mr. Beverly M. Eoff, a prominent Wheeling businessman and bondholder of St. John's Episcopal Church, made a legal demand for the payment of his bonds, with the support of other bondholders, due to the church's inability to pay its debts (1875).
 
St. John's Episcopal Church in Wheeling, West Virginia, was established in 1850 as a separate parish from St. Matthew's Church to serve Episcopalians living south of Wheeling Creek. The new church, sometimes referred to as "Eoff's Chapel" after a prominent family that supported it, was considered "high church" compared to the "low church" St. Matthew's.
 
Over the years, St. John's faced challenges including flood damage, financial difficulties, and declining membership. The interior was renovated in the 1850s to have a more elegant Gothic style. However, continuing money problems led to a crisis on May 4, 1875, when Mr. Beverly M. Eoff, a prominent Wheeling businessman and bondholder of St. John's Episcopal Church, made a legal demand for the payment of his bonds, with the support of other bondholders, due to the church's inability to pay its debts. Beverly M. Eoff was the son of Dr. John Eoff, after whom Eoff Street in Wheeling was named. As a result of the financial crisis, the church property was put up for auction in 1875 to pay off debts of around $10,000. It was purchased by J.P. Gilchrist, a member of the St. John's congregation, for $10,100, allowing it to remain an Episcopal church for the time being. The letter by John R. Eoff reflects on the history and changing ceremonial style of both St. John's and St. Matthew's churches.
 
To learn more: (https://tinyurl.com/4b6ba9st) (https://tinyurl.com/y4y9nzzj) (https://tinyurl.com/w9wcn2zj) (https://tinyurl.com/49rd7un8) (https://tinyurl.com/5nsbpavd) (https://tinyurl.com/juc7e726) (https://tinyurl.com/mwvuffsc) (https://tinyurl.com/3vjf4aap) (https://tinyurl.com/2njpknbs)
 
Photo credits: Ohio County Public Library Archives, Wheeling WV; Find a Grave, Wheeling Intelligencer, Wheeling News-Register
 
Picture
0 Comments



Leave a Reply.

    Mike Minder

    Mike Minder was born and raised in Wheeling, West Virginia. He is the author of Wheeling's Gambling History to 1976.

    Archives

    April 2025
    March 2025
    February 2025
    January 2025
    December 2024
    November 2024
    October 2024
    September 2024
    August 2024
    July 2024
    June 2024
    May 2024
    April 2024
    March 2024
    February 2024
    January 2024
    December 2023
    November 2023
    October 2023
    September 2023
    August 2023
    July 2023
    June 2023
    May 2023
    April 2023
    March 2023
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012

    Categories

    All
    1908
    Anthony Zambito
    Anti-Gambling Bill
    Arch Riley
    Casino
    Earl Corkran
    Edward Weith
    Eric Halverson
    Erics Steak House258a865f0a
    Gambling
    Gambling Devices
    Gambling Raids
    Gambling Stamp
    Gambling Stamps
    Henry Schmulbach
    Horserace
    Horse Racing
    Mozart Park
    October 252749dd659a51
    Ohio County
    Schmulbach
    Today-in-wheeling-history
    Tony Zambito
    West Virginia
    Wheeling
    Wheelingaposs Gambling History0d9acbcb79
    Wheelingaposs Gambling History To 197650ca476ed4
    Wheeling Park
    Wheeling Police
    Wheeling Repository
    Wheelings Gambling History60ad5e7d33
    Zambito

    RSS Feed

Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.